Buffalo Tom
"Three Easy Pieces" Ammal Records / New West Records (Pinnacle) Irish Release Date July 6th, 2007
"Three Easy Pieces"
Ammal Records / New West Records (Pinnacle)
Irish Release Date July 6th, 2007
On July 6th , Buffalo Tom return after a nine-year absence of recorded material with their much anticipated seventh studio effort Three Easy Pieces. The album is the first release from Danny Goldberg’s newly formed Ammal Records, an imprint through New West Records.

Goldberg says, “Buffalo Tom has long been one of my favorite bands. I’m so happy that this brilliant new collection will be the first release on Ammal.”

Buffalo Tom are original members Bill Janovitz (guitar, vocals), Chris Colbourn (bass, vocals) and Tom Maginnis (drums). Recorded and produced by the band in their hometown of Boston, Three Easy Pieces marks a celebratory return to form. The album is 13 original guitar-driven pop songs and includes the infectious opening track “Bad Phone Call” and standouts “Pendleton” and “You’ll Never Catch Him”. Colbourn says, “We didn't talk a lot in rehearsals writing Three Easy Pieces—we just watched each other and improvised chords, lyrics and jokes. That’s something we learned to do after playing together for 20 years.”

Formed in 1986 in Boston at the University of Massachusetts, Buffalo Tom gained a following among the burgeoning local scene. In 1989, they released their eponymous debut on SST Records and went on to release four albums for Beggars Banquet including their break-through Let Me Come Over (1992), which features the power ballad and fan favorite “Taillights Fade.” In 2000 they released the compilation Asides from Buffalo Tom, followed by its companion piece Besides: A Collection of B-Sides and Rarities in 2002. Since the release of Buffalo Tom’s last album of new material, Smitten (1998), the band has continued to play shows. After a brief hiatus, they began writing and recording again in 2003. A national tour in support of Three Easy Pieces will be announced shortly.



Back to Top