If you entered this page via an external link and wish to view the entire site, Please click here

Angel City

Angel City- Love Me Right
Release Date - 18th February 2005
Label - DATA
Web -

‘Love Me Right’ the debut album from Angel City is finally is set for release on the 18th October.

‘Love Me Right’ is 10 tracks of pure golden-nugget-pop-perfection and radio-friendly club floorfillers, all with the highly seductive and distinctive vocals of Lara McAllen: from the balearic beauty of ‘I Won’t Let You Down’ through the mid-tempo yearning of ‘Stay’ right and the disco heaven of ‘Back In Time’ all the way to the mature genius of the album’s closer ‘Confession.’ “Love Me Right” is written and produced by Bass Bumpers’ Frank Knebel, Pete Hammond and Grammy awards winners Phil Larsen, Rob Davis and Bruce Elliot-Smith, who between them have enjoyed over 100 UK top ten hits!

The album includes two hit singles ‘Love Me Right’ and ‘Touch Me’ and the latest Robert Miles inspired smash ‘Do You Know’.

The debut single ‘Love Me Right’ spent five weeks in the top 40, peaked at no.11 in the national sales chart as well as being a massive radio airplay smash peaking in the top ten. It has now sold over 50,000 copies.

‘Touch Me’ the remake of the Cathy Dennis smash was another top twenty hit peaking at 53 in the radio airplay chart.

Do You Know’ the third single taken from the album is destined for the top 10! Already an underground smash in bootleg form, Angel City have turned it into a piece of classy pop perfection. Already at number 90 in the radio airplay chart and number 42 in the TV airplay chart (with The Box playlist just confirmed this week and about to start rotation). Released on the 27th September this single is the final piece in the puzzle which will enable the album to be a sure fire smash.

1. Love Me Right (Oh Sheila)
2. I Won’t let You Down
3. Do You Know (I Go Crazy)
4. Touch Me
5. City Lights
6. Stay
7. Back In Time
8. Stars
9. Calling You
10. Confession

Angel City comprises 21 year old Lara and an array of different producers. “But,” she says, “this time round I’ve got six dancers with me. It’ll be like having a family round me. I’ve been doing loads of PA’s and the song has gone down well so hopefully it’ll do even better than the last one!”

Lara, born and brought up in Guildford, appreciates more than most how incredible it is to have fulfilled her lifetime ambitions. All she ever wanted was to become a professional singer and dancer, but she was born with a rare physical condition: “I had a dislocated left hip and spent a lot of my childhood in hospital undergoing treatment. At first it looked like I might never be able to walk properly, but by the time I was four the splints came off. By the time I was six I insisted I wanted to learn to dance!”

At the age of 18 she was onto even bigger things: “I started doing some sessions, and then got the gig touring with Shakira in the UK as a backing singer/dancer. That was a great experience - performing with her on Top of The Pops and CD:UK – but the highlight was definitely at Party in the Park. It was being on stage in front of thousands of people that made me realize I wanted to do my own thing.”

Promptly spotted by Ministry Of Sound, she was soon fronting Angel City.

«Back to Top»

«Back to Top»

To view larger and/or download full size print versions of these images. Please select the thumbnails below
«Back to Top»